Chakra Yoga – Balancing Your Chakras

chakras relating to yoga asans

There is a lot of talk about chakras and how they relate to yoga poses, but not everyone knows what they are. Chakra is an Indian word for throat and the word derives from the Sanskrit word “kunda”, meaning “corpse”. The meaning then is that these organs are vital organs of the body that help maintain life. A person with a strong functioning chakra is able to breathe easily and this enables them to move with ease in their yoga exercises.

An Overview

A person jumping up in the air

The chakras in yoga relate to different aspects of the human being. To start off, there is the Base stand. This is the first chakra and is represented by the physical world such as the skin, organs and feet. By strengthening the Base chakra through yoga practices, it is possible to gain self-empowerment and spiritual strength.

Next is the Swayambhu Akra or Sacral chakra. The Swayambhuakra is located in the brain and it controls our emotions, intelligence and our thoughts. The energy generated by the Swayambhuakra is highly volatile and can be classified as hot, cold or a combination of the two. It is important to keep the Swayambhu Akra balanced and to get chakras in order to function at its highest potential. The Swayambhu Kara also corresponds to Kundalini awakening.

Main Tip

A close up of a person wearing a pink shirt

Thirdly, we have the Ajna or Navel chakra or Sushumna chakra. The Ajna chakra is often neglected in the field of yoga and many misconceptions arise because of this. When the Ajna chakra system is out of balance, there are numerous physical symptoms that arise such as back pain and headaches.

Fourthly, we have the Trikona or Throat chakra. This chakra is situated directly below the nose and it controls speech. The Vishuddha is situated between the nose and the throat and is the largest of the chakras. The Vishuddha is connected to speech centres of the brain, the subconscious mind and memory centres of the brain.

Fifthly, we have the Root chakra or Tulasangkara chakra. This chakra corresponds to the Muladhara Chakra. It controls the organs and glands and it is associated with the colour green. Green energy is used to enhance intelligence and to heal sickness and injury. When the Root chakra is out of balance, it leads to ill health, poor digestion, weak immunity and emotional instability.

Brow Chakra

Sixthly, we have the Brow chakra or Vishuddha chakra. The Brow chakra controls and governs personality. It is related to intelligence, creative imagination and emotional stability. When the Brow chakra is blocked or overburdened, one may suffer from depression, emotional instability, schizophrenia and other mental disorders.

Lastly, we have the Crown chakra or Anahata chakra. It is the most important chakra and it corresponds to self-realization. It is associated with tantric energy. It is also related to wisdom, creativity, compassion, forgiveness and tolerance. In fact, it is considered the seed of every other chakra.

Yoga experts suggest that yoga practitioners focus on chakras relating to yoga postures for at least twenty minutes daily. However, you can increase this period of time if you find it difficult to keep your concentration and attention. If you want to learn more about chakras and yoga positions, visit your local library. You can buy books that explain about yoga and its various postures. Alternatively, you could read about them online. A quick search will give you all the information you need.

Final Tips

One of the most important things to remember about yoga is that there are no set types of yoga asanas. It is a holistic system of fitness exercises that can be practiced by people of any age. You do not have to join a yoga class in order to practice it. Asanas are simply part of the system. In other words, yoga is not a workout for your body. Rather, it is a way of life.

It does not matter what age or gender you are. You can use chakra yoga for weight loss, improving your immune system, clearing your energy channels and achieving optimum physical and mental health. The word chakra means “wheel” in Sanskrit. They are believed to stand for the wheel of life. According to the teachings of the ancient Indian sages, the human body is linked to a chakra through nerve cells, glands and organs.


Therefore, your body and mind are connected to each other via these energy centers. By meditating on them, you can cleanse and energize your chakras so that your energy flows smoothly throughout your body. In conclusion, chakra yoga can help you to balance and strengthen your chakras and thereby improve your overall health.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter